Memorizing Historical Dates

23 replies [Last post]
Josh Cohen's picture
Webmaster

I know there are techniques for memorizing fake historical dates for competitions. What interests me more than that is, how does one memorize real historical dates?

Would you assign one decade per locus? Would you have a separate journey for every region in the world, or combine them in some way?

Has anyone tried it?

Cole's picture
I am new to the memorization

I am new to the memorization strategies outlined here, however, in terms of organizing historical data I believe a good starting point could be to create a plane with a time axis and geography axis. This should allow the construction of an expandable modular system, both in terms of working outward to encompass additional regions and/or eras, as well as vertically (imagine drawers or shelves) to stack on new topics.

So X = time, Y = place, Z = discipline

I guess then there would be the two-fold task of creating a timeline for whatever discipline you wish to begin with, and then superimpose a journey over it? But the journey stuff is all new to me, I'm mainly speaking from some experience using charts (mind maps, timelines, tables) usually in studying history or romance languages. Although I'd imagine once you made the chart you might then be able to superimpose the google map of your home town or university or even just the map of your favorite videogame level or whatever.

I would imagine that assigning 1 decade per locus could maybe overwhelm? If you made vertical levels for different disciplines, then there could be less data per plane, so then decades might work?